Paingod and Other Delusions (1975 Pyramid Mass Market)


Harlan Ellison’s 1965 collection contains nine stories, including the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning “‘Repent, Harelquin!’ Said the Ticktockman.”


#2 in Pyramid’s uniform Harlan Ellison collection.

This is the second volume in Pyramid Books’ exciting program of Harlan Ellison titles. Out of print since 1969, PAINGOD brings together eight tales of wonder from a universe of thoughts never thought before…the universe of might-be. To make this collection a must-buy for the enormous audience that never seems to get enough of Ellison’s wild imagination, a new introduction has been especially written and the author has included one of his most recent works, “Sleeping Dogs,” never before anthologized anywhere. In this amazing little book you will encounter the now-famous
Harlequin and his nemesis, The Ticktockman, in a story that has become one of the most reprinted stories in the English language; a planet of righteous lunatics who spend all their waking hours making asses of themselves; a spaceship filled with hideous mutants rejected by the world that gave them birth; a pyrotic who can set fires merely by willing them into being; the last surgeon in a world of “phymechs,” robot physicians. In short, once having taken a toke of Ellison you will be hooked for good, so go cautiously: this is the mad dreamer at his best.

Cover by Leo & Diane Dillon.

1975 New Introduction: Your Basic Crown of Thorns
1965 Introduction: Spero Meliora: From the Vicinity of Alienation
“Repent, Harlequin!” Said the Ticktockman [1965 Nebula Award, Best Short Story; 1966 Hugo Award, Best Short Story; 2015 Prometheus Award Hall of Fame Inductee]
The Crackpots
Sleeping Dogs
Bright Eyes
The Discarded
Wanted in Surgery
Deeper Than the Darkness

Additional information

Weight 0.25 lbs
Dimensions 4.25 × 6.875 × 0.5 in

Limited Edition