Paingod and Other Delusions (1983 Ace Books 3rd Edition Mass Market Paperback)


Harlan Ellison’s 1965 collection contains nine stories, including the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning “‘Repent, Harelquin!’ Said the Ticktockman.”

In stock


Robert Heinlein says, “This book is raw corn liquor–you should serve a whiskbroom with each shot so the customer can brush the sawdust off after he gets up from the floor.”

Perhaps a mooring cable might also be added as necessary equipment for reading these eight wonderful stories: They not only knock you down…they raise you to the stars. Passion is the keynote as you  encounter the Harlequin and his nemesis, the dreaded Ticktockman, in one of the most reprinted and widely taught stories in the English language; a pyrotic who creates fire merely by willing it; the last surgeon in a world of robot physicians; a spaceship filled with hideous mutants rejected by the world that gave them birth. Touching and gentle and shocking stories from an incomparable master of impossible dreams and troubling truths.

Cover by Barclay Shaw.

1975 New Introduction: Your Basic Crown of Thorns
1965 Introduction: Spero Meliora: From the Vicinity of Alienation
“Repent, Harlequin!” Said the Ticktockman [1965 Nebula Award, Best Short Story; 1966 Hugo Award, Best Short Story; 2015 Prometheus Award Hall of Fame Inductee]
The Crackpots
Sleeping Dogs
Bright Eyes
The Discarded
Wanted in Surgery
Deeper Than the Darkness

Additional information

Weight 0.25 lbs
Dimensions 4.25 × 6.875 × 0.5 in

Limited Edition